Baw Baw Shire electoral re-structure to take effect following elections


Following this years local council elections, Baw Baw Shire will adopt a new ward structure to consist of three wards with three councillors each. 

Baw Baw Shire’s boundary restructure follows an Electoral Representation Review from the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) last year conducted and was made offical on Thursday.

West Ward (Longwarry and Drouin), Central Ward (Warragul) and East Ward (Noojee, Yarragon, Trafalgar and Rawson) are now the three wards that form the Baw Baw Shire.

In November 2015, the VEC released the Final Report of their review that outlined Option B as the preferred recommendation for the Baw Baw Shire.

Option B consisted of nine councillors elected from three three-councillor wards and was deemed “most consistent” with the VEC guiding values and principles.

Baw Baw Shire’s size, ward structure, number of councillors per ward and population growth were all factors that the VEC considered as part of the representation review.

“Council spent a great deal of time working through the review last year. We made a preliminary submission and a response submission, as well as holding a public hearing in October to finalise our position”, Baw Baw Shire Mayor Joe Gauci said.

“This change will impact all towns and residents across the shire, with the new boundaries being in place for up to eight years. As such, it was important that we spent the time addressing the options thoroughly during the review to ensure we got a structure that provided all of our residents with fair and equitable representation.”

Baw Baw Shire council currently compromises of nine councillors elected from one three councillor ward and three two-councillor wards.

Baw Baw Shire’s council elections will be held in October.

VEC’s next scheduled review for Baw Baw Shire Council will occur before the 2028 local council elections.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s