Four sitting councillors drop out as election race heats up

As potential candidates begin to campaign for council leadership positions, four current council members will not contest their leadership positions in the upcoming election.

Only five of the nine current council representatives will be running in this year’s council election; current Baw Baw Shire mayor Joe Gauci, Mikaela Power, Peter Kostos, Tricia Jones and former mayor Debbie Brown.

Cr Terry Williamson, Murray Cook, David Balfour and Gerald Murphy have all dropped out of the race.

Baw Baw Shire council currently comprises of nine councillors elected from one three councillor ward and three two councillor wards; Drouin Ward, Mount Worth Ward, North Ward and Warragul Ward.

However, effective as of next month, Baw Baw Shire will be divided into three, three councillor wards, Central Ward, East Ward and West Ward, with a total of nine councillors.

According to the VEC, mayor Joe Gauci and Mikaela Power (Warragul Ward councillors) will run for the Central Ward, Peter Kostos (Mount Worth Ward) for the East Ward and Tricia Jones (Drouin Ward) and Debbie Brown for the West Ward.

The electoral restructure is a change in line with the Victorian Electoral Commission’s 2015 representation review.

Each ward will offer three vacancies and 21 candidates are vying for positions.

Voting is compulsory and ballots must be returned by the 21st of October at 6pm.

Council elections occur every four years by the VEC and are only held by postal vote.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s